Unexpected

We have corn fields behind our home and after the harvest, the scenery is like the first picture in this post. Clear skies invited me to go for a walk one day in October and I saw the unexpected. P1070346

Is that a squirrel with her share of the harvest?

Is that a squirrel with its share of the harvest?

The squirrel did not like me staring at it and so it decided to cross the street. Mind you it still chose to sprint its way down the street.

The squirrel did not like me staring, so it decided to cross the street. Mind you, it still chose to sprint holding on to its booty.

By the time I took this picture, the squirrel was getting comfortable having me there.

Now the squirrel was comfortable in my presence and let me take pictures.

"Corn on the cob" for lunch.

Corn on the cob for lunch.

It had finished most of its meal and chose to pose for this picture.

It had finished most of its meal and chose to pose for this picture.

Not too far from where the squirrel was eating was this sign.

Not too far from where the squirrel was eating was this sign. Wonder, what the squirrel thought about it? Chuckle!

This is my entry for the weekly photo challenge Unexpected.

The one thing, I learned from this unexpected encounter was, such chance meetings could be where writers find inspiration. It could just be the “Once upon a time…” that we all have read in Beatrix Potter’s “The Tale of Peter Rabbit”. As children, we let our imagination soar and believe in these stories but as we get older we have to “see it to believe it”.

I hope you enjoyed this post. Have a great weekend!

29 thoughts on “Unexpected

  1. Why did the squirrel cross the road?
    To squirrel away the corn! 😛 Sorry for being so silly.
    Your photo reminded me of the squirrel I saw crossing a busy street. It was a miracle that it was able to dodge the oncoming vehicles.

    • It all happened so fast. The little fellow finished his lunch and interestingly another smaller sized squirrel was nibbling on the corn bits that fell on the ground. Nothing is wasted in nature. My husband ushered me to continue our walk and so I lost track of the squirrels but it was a fun afternoon. 🙂

    • Sorry to reply back so late. I just never saw your comment Annette. 😦
      I agree with you that in the old times people would go into the fields to glean for the leftovers. Now, there would be legalities for trespassing and all the nine yards. It is much easier for squirrels than us. LOL. Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a comment