Layers

I chose this staple simpleton from my pantry for this weekly photo challenge: Layers

These onions look so approachable in this basket.

P1070690Wait until you pick and cut them…… and you can see the layers unfold, that is if you can see them with your teary eyes.

P1070691P1070692

For some recipes, especially home made salsa, guacamole and the Indian bhel puri, I prefer to chop onions by hand. It provides a different texture and crunch versus using the electrical food chopper. The one downside is the tears.

A few years ago, I discovered a trick. I turn on the range hood exhaust fan. Next, I chop the onions on the counter  closest to the range hood. Voilà!  No more tears!

Could you share your tricks to prevent tears when you chop onions?

Thanks for stopping by. Have a great weekend!

4 thoughts on “Layers

Leave a comment