Nighttime

I took these pictures on September 9th 2014. The Sept. 9 super moon was the last to complete the trio of super moons that began in July. The biggest and brightest of the trio was the one that occurred Aug. 10.

I used my neighbor's tree as a reference to capture the rising moon in the eastern sky.

I used my neighbor’s tree as a reference to capture the rising moon in the eastern sky.

 It is by far the biggest and brightest object in the night sky however the moon is not an easy subject to photograph.

It is by far the biggest and brightest object in the night sky however, the moon is not an easy subject to photograph.

Supermoons are lunar phenomena where the moon reaches a point in its orbit where it is closest to the Earth. At this point, the moon will appear to be bigger and brighter.

Super moons are lunar phenomena where the moon reaches a point in its orbit where it is closest to the Earth. At this point, the moon will appear to be bigger and brighter.

Nighttime:  It’s trickier to take pictures at night, but the rewards are well worth it.

28 thoughts on “Nighttime

    • Thanks for your feedback. The more I read about taking the pictures of moon (of course after I had taken these LOL), the more literature supports using the horizon as a reference or to try and place the moon in between trees. There is so much to learn. I appreciate your comment. 🙂

      • I like many different types of moon shots so I’m not too picky. The problem with using objects in the foreground is that your camera either focuses on the foreground and the moon is blurry, or you get a sharp moon and a blurry foreground. I’m cheated that problem in the past by taking two different pictures with two different focuses, and then merge them together in Photoshop. I’m pretty sure they did something similar in dark rooms with film in the past. Cameras just have so many features they can give us. 🙂

      • This was my first time. I guess I had beginner’s luck especially with the first picture. 🙂 I need to learn how to photo shop. It sounds pretty cool to be able to merge pictures. Thanks Milka!

  1. What can I say? I was going to say that the tree in the foreground created a nice dialogue with the moon and enhanced the beauty that the moon did not have in the photos of it alone, but…everybody else beat me to the punch in saying the same kind of thing. The feedback shows you without any hesitation which one is better. I think the leaves on the tree also made it special. It didn’t quite fit stereotypical shots. It created patterns instead of just the typical image of an old tree or an old farmhouse, etc. Just my two cents worth…YMMV

Leave a Reply

