Split Second Story

P1070161

I must have looked at this flag every summer I visited my friend Judy and not noticed anything unusual about it.

It was only last year when I gazed at it, I realized it had 48 stars arranged in 6 rows of 8 stars each, while there were thirteen stripes representing the thirteen original colonies. 

The flag belongs to Judy’s husband Bill.

Bill’s father was killed in the Battle of the Bulge on January 12 in 1945 and the flag was sent back by Armed Services to the family after he was buried.  Bill was only two years old then, and did not get to know his father. Every summer, for the last fifteen years or so, Bill has been displaying the flag in memory of his Dad.

As I researched,  I found out that Alaska and Hawaii were not states at the time when this flag was made, therefore it had 48 stars instead of 50.

The flag reminds us all that there are deeds that must not pass away and memories that must not wither.

I am grateful to Bill and Judy for sharing this story with me and all my readers.

God Bless the United States of America!

This is my entry for the photo challenge Split Second Story  For this week’s challenge, attempt to capture  a candid moment of a person, place or thing. Tell a story by documenting a moment in time through a single image.

14 thoughts on “Split Second Story

  1. I am quite moved to read this post ad as an ex Army officer I salute with respect Bill’s father a brave soldier who fought the battle. Bill is indeed a great son of a great father.
    Thank you Charu.

Leave a Reply

