Thank you Mr. Kelly!

article-new-thumbnail_ehow_images_a08_au_h8_proper-during-singing-starspangled-banner-800x800

My daughter is not new to this middle school. However, there have been many changes in administration and class assignments, so she and her friends have been anxious. I had heard the girls say that last year’s choir teacher “rocked”.Β  A new choir teacher, “Mr. Kelly” was accepting all students for audition after school today.

She got home from school.

Hey, how did it go?”- Me.

Great” says my daughter.

What did you guys sing?” – Me.

“Listen to this Mom”, she says.

As she starts singing, my stance straightens, my right hand covers my heart and tears start rolling down my eyes. I join my budding soprano in spirit as she finishes singing, “Over the land of the free and the home of the brave”.

My daughter sings the National Anthem perfectly. It dawns on me, “We are Americans”- two accents, united with the same feeling. A long time ago, when I became a naturalized citizen, I memorized the lyrics of the Star-Spangled Banner. I join in every single time and I know I have an accent, but I still sing.

As I think of the unrest in the world, I say a prayer in my heart, “Please God, let no one take away our national anthem from us.

I applaud Mr. Kelly for teaching the choir to sing the most difficult song, with one and a half octaves, at their first audition. I hope my daughter continues to sing in future. One day, she may sing the National anthem solo and if you come and compliment her, I know my heart will say “Thank you, thank you Mr. Kelly”!

Star Spangled BannerI pledge allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America, and to the republic for which it stands, one Nation under God, indivisible, with liberty and justice for all.

13 thoughts on “Thank you Mr. Kelly!

  1. Wow, what a great music teacher. I remember when you and Milind became citizens. What an incredible time in your lives. And the surprise party with gifts and decor the office did for you. Red, white and blue all over his cubicle – some of the gifts were an apple pie and a baseball. What an honor it was to share that moment in your lives.

  2. I agree, what a wonderful music teacher!
    Thank you, Linda, for recapturing those moments from the past with your words here. I remember, we all wore the statue of liberty hats and the special cake and the celebrations and we were so surprised! Yeah, it was truly wonderful! πŸ™‚
    Also Thank you for sharing this post on Facebook.

  3. your welcome! This was so special I had to share it. Most of us don’t appreciate being born in this country. You and Milind had to go through a lot to become citizens.

  4. What a beautiful post! I hope Mr. Kelly gets a chance to read your thoughtful words and the positive impact he has made on your daughter and you. Be proud of your accent, don’t let it be a hindrance. Keep on singing the National Anthem!

    • Thank you! The school’s principal shared this post with the school staff and Mr. Kelly. Mr. Kelly appreciated the sentiment in this blog post and emailed me to let me know. Yes, I will continue to sing and be proud of my accent.
      Thanks for stopping by and your words of encouragement Elaine!

  5. Great post! I’m so glad that Mr. Kelly got to read this. I teach middle school and love getting a positive note from a parent every once in a blue moon! Keep singing:)

Leave a Reply

