It is harvest time!

P1020941

The nice red ‘plum’ tomatoes, the ‘big boy’ and the ‘yellow’ tomatoes that are less acidic are all harvested and washed clean.

plus sign

Fresh basil, I wish I could share the fragrance with you.

Fresh basil, I wish I could share the fragrance with you.

equal to

The Math is easy

Homemade marinara sauce

Followed by a delicious bowl of spaghetti!

Followed by a delicious bowl of spaghetti!
Bowl is licked clean :)

Bowl is licked clean πŸ™‚

The photo challenge : Foreshadow

When it is harvest time, I foreshadow ‘labor of love’. The first step is collecting and washing the produce, next sharing the harvest with friends & loved ones, after that looking for tried and tested recipes, and mostly being thankful for all that mother nature gave us this season.

Won’t you share with me how you invest yourself in “labor of love”?

I would love to hear from you in the comments below.

16 thoughts on “It is harvest time!

  1. yummy, thanks for sharing! We don’t have that many tomatoes yet. Have basil ready though. PS – that is not how I lick a bowl clean lol.

    • Thank you!
      What can I say about ‘Squirrels’?, Oh Mercy, we have a corn field behind our house and yet it is not enough for them. The squirrels have had their share and I find chewed up tomatoes laying around in the garden. Is there a solution for these squirrels?

      • From what I have read the best solution to get any tomatoes (before the squirrels get them) is to collect all the green tomatoes when they are a decent size and put them in a brown paper sack and set them in a warm place to ripen. In two weeks or so they will ripen and turn red, I know, 😦 not the same as ripening on your tomato plant. We did not have squirrels when we did not have as many mature trees in our neighborhood. I will have to keep looking for a solution and will be happy to share when I find one.

  2. How about some of those tomatoes sliced with some fresh (soft) mozzarella cheese and topped with that basil, EVOO and some fresh pepper? Your recipe looked so yummy and made me want Italian food. πŸ˜‰ Sue

Leave a Reply

