She sells sea shells by the sea shore: CURVES

Seashells are nostalgic as they bring back memories of my childhood summers wading the Arabian Sea, shelling the beaches and when I hold a conch by my ear the ocean is not too far away. You may click on any of the pictures below for a larger view.

The colorful curves on the flat scallop shells and the curves of clam shells

Curved and colorful beauties found shelling on Sanibel Island in Florida in 2011.

Beautiful curves and colors on these conches found also on Sanibel island.

Beautiful curves and colors adorn these conches collected on Sanibel Island.

In December 2009 we visited the Citadel of Qaitbay in Alexandria, Egypt. Outside the fortress various vendors were selling different souvenirs, shells and conches.

P1050868

When I laid my eyes on this conch, I was mesmerized by its curves and my fingers stroked and traced each curve. I flipped the conch and it was even more beautiful.

P1050869Next I inherently held the conch against my right ear to hear the ocean. It was loud in the open marketplace; I covered my left ear with my hand and tried to listen very closely. I sure heard the ocean and it brought a huge smile on my face. Then I saw this huge clamshell next to it.

P1050870

Giant Clamshell that weighs 2 and a half kilos.

P1050873

Giant Clamshell opened here and used as a centerpiece on the coffee table.

P1050874

Our coffee table bedecked with these beauties looks quite ornate.

To think each had been a sea creature’s  home. Mother Nature provides beautiful mansions for her children!

These shells play musical chairs in my home and are versatile to decorate with, be it the bathroom, the living room or sunroom.

P1050895

A clam shell used to store jewelry by my nightstand.

P1050889

Giant Clamshell used as a coin holder.

P1050891

This clamshell serves as a roomy soap dish with 5 and 1/2″ X 9 “dimensions.

When you are done admiring the curves on these shells try twisting your tongue, say “she sells sea shells by the sea shore” three times, rapidly. Got you!

PS: Do you collect shells? I would love to know how you use your shells to decorate your home. You can write in the comments below. Thank you!

Related articles:

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/06/14/weekly-photo-challenge-curves/

9 thoughts on “She sells sea shells by the sea shore: CURVES

  1. Cool! I have a shell collection that I need to do something with. Hopefully soon. Some from Mexico, FL, Maine, garage sales – have some big beautiful ones that came from someone’s grandma’s home in Sanibel Island, FL. Wanting to figure out a way to put them in a frame/shadow box. I do have some jewelry in a shell on by bathroom vanity. And I love to hear the sound of the ocean in the shells too.

Leave a Reply

